bipolar, depression and (holistic) health

Body and brain

Bipolar and depression disorders run ramped through my family. There is a great majority of relatives with similar issues. As a kid it felt like an angry curse. As a mom I am so scared that I can’t break the cycle. Before I leave my living room I have picked up seven books to help me through this paper. There are so many was of dealing with problems within the realm of depression disorders through means of; energy, genetics, environmental, spiritual, and current biomedical treatments and using a holistic approach to overcome it. Everyone has taken a different approach to dealing with their lives some with greater consequence than others. As a holistic issue the difference that has occurred within the inevitable inheritance that affects ‘my tribe’.

The first chakra at the base of your spine deals with family issue’s  and how we relate to the world. This is where you first develop your belief system, where habits are formed(Myss,103). There have been five women in my family that have been diagnosed with Bipolar disorder. In the DSM 1V code is 296 this is someone with severe mood swings, having extreme joys and all out low and manic depressive with matching behavior(psychnet) Others have been diagnosed with things like post postpartum depression, post traumatic stress disorder, depression, manic depression, boarder line personality disorder, bulimic and anorexicThere is also some severe sexual issues ranging from being raped to dealing with the sex industry to having a very inconsistent sex life as a primal fear this would be seen as a second chakra. Cutting also runs in the family. There are five cutters I do believe that this phase is over but it is still very much an issue dealing with depression. No one knew that the other one was doing it. and this was occurring at different times in a 20 year period. For me I remember trying to kill my self and then falling asleep watching the blood drip. I did it several more times then found other ways to self medicate.  Some have more than one symptom or diagnosis where others have none. I am afraid that my kids and I show definite symptoms and have many issues as well, though our therapists have not diagnosed the kids. All of these dysfunctions of depression can result from the second chakra (129-130 Myss)

The chakras are a group of energy centers there are seven of them that are lined up from the crown of your head to the base of your spine. Each one has a lot of things that it can encompass. Energetically focusing on each one of these to help deal with and alleviate problems.(myss) Through energy diagnostics you can clear blockages that can build up and lead to serious health problems. Through modalities such as massage, reiki and acupuncture.

There is no none cure for bipolar, they do list bio medicines that may help like lithium, prozac. The severity of it depends upon the treatment.  Those who are able to stay away from drugs and alcohol, eat right and exercise can avoid medication (psychnet). I work with a therapist and stay  towards  a holistic approach, I have ptsd, I had postpartum depression and  I bet if I tried I could get diagnosed with bi polar as well. Those who are not able to follow a program have some terrible problems. They don’t stay consistent with their therapies; they don’t follow a healthy organic, chemical free, no sugar, no caffeine diet. I have seen them steadily decline and have these really complex dramas that they weave amongst themselves. They go back and forth between addictions and falling into rages, ostracizing themselves from the family for long periods of time. Their health takes a toll. Cancers  by Hays definition comes from deep hurt, longstanding resentment, deep secret or grief eating away at the self. Carrying hatred (hays,159) and all kinds of other ailments like fibromyalgia and back problems ; emotion-Lack of emotional support, feeling unloved, holding back love, Guilt. Stuck in all that “stuff” back there. Get off my back. Fear of money. Lack of financial support ( hay,154 )

In my Brain and Body course there has been some discussion about this being passed down through the family. Weather it is genetics or learned behavior I want to figure it all out before I have to live another day in chaos. This topic keeps running around my head, but I am not going to base this report off of ‘woundology … use the revelation and exchange of our wounds as the substance of conversation’ (209, Myss) I will not blame . That is how we stay in a problem and  give away our power. Understanding enables us to rise above the issue and take control of our future.(35, Hay)

Through these  serious diagnoses we continue to work through issues . Trying to keep a family alive while dealing with problems and healing ourselves. One and four women will be depressed at some point in their lives compared to one in eight men. There are over seven million women in the United States with a diagnosable depression.(Foley,Nechas,136) Why? Dr. McGrath in her book Women and Depression; risk factors and treatment issues. “One study estimated that 37%before the age of 21 of women have had a significant experience of physical or sexual abuse. She also states that this number could be more like 50%. If it is genetics that is responsible  than can  people be held responsible for their actions?  learning to deal with your issues needs to happen no matter what you have to work with. Insanity as defined by Louise hay is fleeing from the family, escapism, withdrawal. Violent separation from life.

I haven’t raised my kids to believe that responsibility comes from a doctor contrived pill. Yet at the same time I find my self paying big bucks to find a natural holistic approach to dealing with the issue’s in my immediate family, the one that I am responsible for; my tribe, myself and my children. Each day I search out a new method. Herbal remedy’s chamomile and valerian, I have also learned from this class in brain and biology  that chocolate and coffee can have some positive effects on the brain. Chocolate releases endorphins and is a great antioxidant. Coffee also has an effect like ridilin in children where it helps to fire the synapses in the brain. A daily regiment of vitamins : magnesium and potassium levels up, 1-3,000 mg of vitamin c, d,  zinc and b’s Trying to keep us well stocked in your  these things help with anxiety issues, weight and over health and well being. This level of care is intense especially  important when you are the caretaker of the family.  My general belief is you have to keep going until you find what works. If after you take all the chemicals from your diet you still are not happy. Than search out biomedicine. There is a lot to be said for brain chemistry. When it is off than the saratonine stops firing than you need to find what is going to make it fire. Sometimes melatonin can help but other times you really need to see a doctor and have them treat you.

A lot of times this angry curse takes over our house and holds us back from having a good life. Is this brain chemistry? Something that I can’t fix or is this something that  could be a simple remedy? I think that it is worse for your body to rage than it is for your body to take a pill to make you feel normal. I have lived with both. Sometimes you have to feel good before you can know how to be good.

Doreen Virtue would call them  my indigo children, because they under every circumstance do whatever they can to impose their way on you. They are smart and have sensitivities to clothing, skin and cleaners florescent lights, they are spirited, compassionate, and energetic. Indigo and crystal children have this imminent light that shines on you holding your responsible for your actions. They have a way of making you become a better person just by knowing them. Making you want to search out the truth and fight for social justice. Classifying my quirky kids is like putting a spiritual name to our issues labeling them with a positive name for being who they are. For them I will try anything

They have taught me what love is, even through the chaos.

Bibliography

Anatomy of the spirit, Caroline Myss, PH.D. Harmony books, NY

You can heal your life, Louise l hay, Hay House Inc

http;//psychnet-uk.com/bipolar1&2

Women’s Encyclopedia of health and emotional healing, Denise foley, Eileen Nechas, Rodale health

Dr. McGrath in her book Women and Depression; risk factors and treatment issues.

The care and feeding of indigo Children, Doreen Virtue, Ph.D

3 thoughts on “bipolar, depression and (holistic) health”

Leave a Reply

