en route to Jamaica/19/soul love saga

DSCF2247
En Route to Jamaica
I took myself to Jamaica to say good bye to my teens. Veronica had a ticket and I wanted to go so I did. I missed the island life. I wanted to be on an island and not stuck in the city for the summer heat wave. I walked the streets of the concrete jungle after coming back from Hawaii. I was so out of my element more here in the city than by the beach. I had felt so at home by the ocean. I missed being able to jump in the water at any time. I loved going to the beach as soon as I woke up. Surfing was hopeless here. It didn’t even dawn on me that I could go to the beach in New York at Coney Island. After seeing the water in the Harbor and the Hudson I really had no desire to swim in it. Never mind being cold and dirty it really didn’t compare to the waters of Hawaii.

NYC Dancers
I sat in the marble alcove overlooking the Hudson River in between pillars watching dancers practice. For a few hours they caught my attention moving up and down the stairs working on a routine. They were smooth in their transitions, their bodies’ fluid in movement to beat only they could here. When one of them walked over a medium sized black man with cute little dreadies that shot out of his head. “So what do you think?”

“I love it, what are you guys working on?”

“We are practicing a dance for Mariah Carey’s new video”

“Oh do you know Malik and Nelson?”

“Well I took Malik’s place, I am Robin and Nelson he’s over there. You know them.”

“Yeah it has been a few years but Malik use to go with my friend Brenda and we use to come to New York to hang out and go clubbing with them once upon a time. You know where they are at?”

“I heard that his girlfriend had a baby and they moved to New Jersey and he had to stop dancing to support them.”

“Oh” I pulled my ankles up under me on the cold marble. I studied his face: his nostrils still flared from hours of dancing. His muscles were raging from his bare chest. He was wearing shorts and leg warmers with dancing black shoes. His quadriceps and calves bulging from under his cotton shorts I could see his man hood rising to the occasion as I couldn’t keep my eyes away from his body glistening in the sunlight.

“Sooo what are you doing out here in this picture perfect location?”  He asked letting his smile hide his perfection with the brightest smile I had seen in a while.

“I just got back from Hawaii a few days ago and I was feeling a little island sick. I miss my friends and I wanted to be back and be near the water.”

“ Ohhh, Well I am glad I met you _______”

“Nicody, Nicody Ransom”

“We should hang out sometime.” I smiled and took out my bag. Pulled my pen and paper and jotted down my number.

“I would love too” He smiled back, pirouetted and jogged back to his friends with his cute little shorts flapping in his wind. He ran up to another guy who looked and waved and ran up to me.

“Hey pretty lady! How are you? We should catch up sometime, I have to finish this dance my break is over.”

“I gave Robin my number; I would love to hang out some time I live just around the corner now on Tieman place. I watched them dance for another hour or so. When I got back home coincidentally veronica asked if I wanted her ticket to Jamaica I jumped on the chance to fly again and promptly made arrangements.
I went to a travel agency that found me accommodations for two weeks at a resort on the ocean. Everyone had something to say about me going out of the country alone.

“Those Jamaicans will take you in the woods and chop you to little pieces with a machete.” Says my Boss.

“I live in Harlem and I had lived in the Bronx, I think I will be fine.” I says to him “Someone will try and sell you pot before you leave the airport.”…… I didn’t tell my mom that I was going until I was at the airport ready to board the plan in fear of what she would say.
The flight was only a few hours from New York. It took less time to get there by plane than it did to get to Massachusetts by bus. The warm and salty air was the first thing that you smelled. I expected a warm gush of Gonja smoke but that was reality. The Caribbean air was sweaty and sweet, Green and full of blossoming flowers. I was asked by my driver if I wanted gonja en route of my resort.

I had two weeks to myself and soo much to do.
to be continued another time….

4 thoughts on “en route to Jamaica/19/soul love saga”

    1. unfortunatly I am to modest to post the words that are close to my heart so for now I will leave those for my book when I get it published… Now I am building an audience many thanks for your words

      Like

Leave a Reply

